Guessing Games

Posted on Updated on

“If you can guess what I have in my pocket you can have it.”

I scoffed, “Why would I want what’s in your pocket anyway? It’s probably just trash”

“Ehh, wrong. Not trash. Care for another guess?”

I stared at him in disbelief and shook my head “That wasn’t even a guess Lucas. It was a statement clarifying why I wasn’t playing your stupid game. ”

“Well it’s not trash so you have no reason not to play. So come on, just take a guess.”

“I swear Luke, some days you are just so annoying. Fine…. your wallet. ”

“Nope.” 

I threw my hands on my hips and glared at him. “What do you mean no? I can see your wallet bulging out of your back pocket. So hand it over. Rules are rules,” I started grabbing for his back pocket but he was trying to keep me at arms length. 

“Whoa now, I wasn’t talking about that pocket.” 

“You never designated a specific pocket. Any pocket is fair game. Better hand it over Bucko.”

“Ugh, fine. It’s not like there’s anything in it anyway. You know I don’t carry money.”

He shook his head and pulled his wallet out to give me. 

“A quick laugh at your driver’s license picture would cheer me up though,” I chuckled and snatched his wallet quickly before he changed his mind. 

“I bet you just find that hilarious. I’m glad I can entertain you with my poor photogenic qualities. ”

“As long as it makes you happy dear. Are we done playing now or will you continue to keep me guessing?”

“Why are you always so damn difficult Lacey?”

“I don’t call that difficult, I call it practical. It’s a waste of time. If you wanted me to have something I shouldn’t have to guess for it.”

“How old are you again Lace? I swear all of the fun has been sucked out of you ever since…” He stopped mid sentence, thinking better of it, but it was already too late. 

“Go ahead. You can say it. Ever since I found out about my mother. You’re right too, I just can’t help it. It’s always in the back of my head that I will no doubt turn into exactly what she is. It’s always going to be there Luke but you don’t have to deal with it too. Maybe it’s good that we know about her now so that you have your chance to get out while you can. ”

“Lacey, hush. This was obviously the wrong way to go about things. I guess it’s what I get for trying to think outside of the box.” Lucas dropped to one knee and then reached for my hand. “I know what you found out bothered you. I know that you are afraid. But I’m not. You are not her and you never will be. I have absolute faith in the person that you are and in what you strive to be. I want to be with you despite your fears because I know it’s not you.”

“But what if it is me.”

“Baby, it’s not. But, if something were to happen I would still stand by your side. Nothing would make me run from you. I want you forever, in spite of all that I already know. Your flaws and your perfections. I love you no matter what and I would love to spend the rest of my life proving that to you,” He reached for his pocket to pull out a small box. He opened it and tears immediately fled from my eyes. At the same time, I also started laughing, and I couldn’t stop. Lucas just stared at me in shock. He was hurt that I was laughing. I needed him to understand why. 

I knelt down with him and took both of his hands. “I don’t mean to laugh but I was just thinking about what I now know was a previous proposal. I feel like an idiot for not playing along.”

“I feel like an idiot for trying to be cryptic. This way was better. So Lacey, now that you know what was in my pocket, would you like to wear it?”

I put my arms around his neck and whispered “yes” into his ear. “On one condition though.” He pushed me back so he could see my face and then raised an eyebrow to get me to continue. “No more guessing games, alright?”

He chuckled And pulled me in for a hug. “Done.”

20140407-160723.jpg

Leave a Reply

